My Fave Highlight & Contour Products 

Hey Lovelies! 
I am a huge fan of highlighting and contouring- it’s a technique I use literally on a daily basis! So I wanted to share with you my favourite products for both cream and powder highlighting and contouring!

Starting with powder contour shades, I am a huge fan of the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit, especially the shade “Fawn.” This is a gorgeous grey- toned shade which is what you generally want for contouring; the aim is to create shadows on the face but if they’re orange toned they’ll end up looking quite muddy! 

Another recent favourite is the contour shade from the NARS “Paloma” contour duo. This is a lot warmer than the ABH shade so it’s important not to go too heavy with this. I tend to do the majority of my contouring with the ABH shade and add a small amount of this to the tops of my cheekbones nearest my ear, just to add a bit of a healthy glow! 

Where cream contour shades are concerned, I like the formula of the ABH colours but when I bought mine she hadn’t released the new shades and I find the shades I have are too warm/ orangey for me! So now I use my NYX HD Concealer in the shade “Tan”. These HD Concealers are so blendable it’s amazing and it gives an amazing colour without orange tones. I never use a cream contour on its own though, so please note that once I’ve blended this out I’ll set it with the same ABH Shade!

Moving on to highlight shades, I don’t use different shades to conceal and highlight, I just use my NYX HD Concealer in Porcelain for both. 

Once again I always set this concealer, and I’m currently using a Translucent powder from Laura Mercier. I have done a full review of this product but I love it because it’s not too heavy under the eyes but you can also use it to bake your contour.

Where brushes are concerned, I’ve been using a small domed eyeshadow brush to carve out my contour areas (you can get these brushes everywhere!) but my fave contouring brush is without a doubt the Kat Von D Shade & Light brush! It’s so convenient and fits the contours of my face perfectly, I love it!

I hope you have enjoyed reading about my fave highlight and contour products, be sure to let me know what yours are! Also, be sure to check out the latest instalment in my colour series, all about Brown products! 

Thanks so much for reading 

Alex

xoxo 

10 thoughts on “My Fave Highlight & Contour Products 

  1. In terms of the Laura mercier powder, you should try out the Rcma no colour powder! Kathleen lights raved about it, I got it and I ❤️ it! I prefer it to my Laura mercier and it’s only $10 (£8) for 3 ounces :O X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this post!! I always highlight and contour myself and clients and I found that Anastasia Cream Color Palette are AMAZING for all different skin tones and as for powders I use Ben Nye Loose Powders in Translucent. The powder is super smooth and absorbs moisture like a dream. Thank you for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean about the NARS duo, I’m quite tanned so I get away with it but it’s so warm toned🙈 what loose powder did you buy? The Laura Mercier one is fab and the tub is massive, such good value for money!xx

      Like

Leave a comment